Watershape University

This invaluable course develops design literacy that is the true DNA of watershape design. Moving through time, architectural spaces and the masters of design, students will appreciate the significance of original concepts. Some of these masters include Frank Lloyd Wright, Mies Van Der Rohe and Frank Gehry.

Learning Outcomes

  • Define the concept of architectural style and historical influence.
  • Review and describe 20th Century design traditions including Arts and Crafts, Prairie Style, Art Deco, Bauhaus, California Bungalow, Mid-Century Modern, Brutalism and many others.
  • Consider the role of water in architectural motifs.
  • Explore how 20th Century architectural styles continue to define 21st Century design.


  • Duration: 16 hours
  • IACET CEUs: 1.6
  • All students who complete the course and evaluation form receive a Certificate of Completion documenting 1.6 IACET CEUs even if they do not continue with the Certified Watershape Designer (CWD) certification.


There is one option:

Live In-Person

  • See schedule for upcoming classes
  • A typical course runs 8-hours per day spanning 2-consecutive days (16 hours)
  • Complete attendance is required
  • Ask questions as they come up
  • Manual is provided in class
  • Instructors are available for questions during the lectures
  • Travel, lodging and meals are the responsibility of the student
  • Watershape University provides lunch for both days


Check back soon — our schedule may update at any time.

Live In-Person


Watershape University’s DESIGN 2311: Essential Architectural Styles Workshop provides a historical foundation from which watershapes of any size and shape may be borrowed, following such masters as Frank Lloyd Wright, Mies Van Der Rohe, and Frank Gehry. DESIGN 2311: Essential Architectural Styles Workshop is one of two options required for the Certified Watershape Designer (CWD) certification.

DESIGN 2311: Essential Architectural Styles Workshop supports the following certifications:

International Watershape Institute (IWI)
International Watershape Institute (IWI)
Certified Watershape Professional (CWP)
Certified Watershape Professional (CWP)
Certified Watershape Designer (CWD)
Certified Watershape Designer (CWD)

Licensing and CEUs

The Certified Watershape Designer (CWD) certification may be used for contractor licensing and required continuing education in certain jurisdictions. The CWD certification builds upon the CWF certification; therefore, all Certified Watershape Designers (CWDs) are also CWFs which support licensing in the following jurisdictions:


DESIGN 2311: Essential Architectural Styles Workshop is intended for and attended by designers, builders, installers, consultants, contractors, and subcontractors — particularly those looking to coordinate their designs with the architecture and landscape architecture of the surrounding project.

Level: 2 – Sophomore / Novice / Limited Experience

There are no prerequisites for DESIGN 2311: Essential Architectural Styles Workshop

Manual Table of Contents

  • Introduction and History of Wellness
  • Biology, Physiology and the Five Senses
  • The Seven Stages of Water and an Introduction to The Seven In-Class Projects
  • Natural Waterbodies — Oceans, Lakes, Ponds, Puddles, Rivers, Streams, Canals, Waterfalls, Hot Springs
  • Immersion Elements — Pools, Hot Tubs, Cold Plunges, Ice Baths, Natural Swimming Ponds, Float Tanks
  • Cultural Immersion Elements & Rituals — Baptismal Fonts, Roman Baths, Mikvehs, Monastery Pools, Ritual Baths, Ablution, Pedilavium
  • Texture and Colors — Tides, Waves, Currents, Reflective, Laminar, Turbulent, Aerated, Transparent, Translucent, Hues, Lightness, Darkness
  • Steam Rooms and Hammams
  • Dry Saunas
  • Cryogenics
  • Vapor Therapeutics — Aroma Therapy
  • Clay Ball, Cupping
  • Massage, Hydrotherapy
  • Acoustic and Light Therapies
  • Core Elements — Restrooms, Dressing Rooms, Showers, Linens, Water Stations and more
  • Standards and Codes Summary
DESIGN 2311: Essential Architectural Styles Workshop

Authorized Faculty

Don F. Gatzke, FAIA

Don F. Gatzke, FAIA

Donald Gatzke is an architect and educator with 40 years in the profession. In addition to practicing in Seattle, Alabama, Louisiana and Texas, he has been a member of the architecture faculty at Tuskegee University, Tulane University and the University of Texas at Arlington. From 1997 to 2004 he was Dean of Architecture at Tulane University and served as Dean of the School of Architecture at UT Arlington from 2004-2014. He retired from the UTA faculty at the end of 2019 but continues to practice architecture and pursue multiple academic projects including as a faculty member of Watershape University. Mostly he’s trying to learn how to play the guitar. In 2014 he was honored by the Texas Society of Architects as the recipient of the Edward Romieniec Award for “extraordinary contributions to the profession through visionary leadership of architectural education”. In 2018, he was made a member of the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects. He resides in Arlington Texas with his wife Diane.